skip to Main Content

FCA welcomes new Board members, farewells others 

The Board of Financial Counselling Australia (FCA) is delighted to announce the appointment of two new board members, Delia Rickard and Carly Baker.

The Board also acknowledges and thanks Greg Tanzer and Lyndall Millburn, who are leaving the Board after seven and three years of service respectively.

New Board Members

Delia Rickard was Deputy Chair of the ACCC for more than 10 years. She previously held several other senior roles at ASIC, as well as working for federal ministers, and with the Australian Law Reform Commission. Delia was instrumental in the establishment of ASIC’s Moneysmart website in 2011 which has been a game-changer for financial literacy in Australia. She has also been at the forefront of the war against scams, having overseen the ACCC’s work in this constantly evolving area.

She is well known in the financial counselling sector, having been invited to many a state or national conference over the years as part of her role with the ACCC and is also a trustee of the Jan Pentland Foundation.

Carly Baker is a Victoria-based financial counsellor and was on the board of Financial Counselling Victoria (FCVic) for six years, the last three as Chair. Carly has made significant contributions to the financial counselling sector, including participating in the current FCVic campaign calling on the Victorian Government to increase financial counselling funding to address long waitlists. She was also the winner of the 2022 Virginia Noonan Award which is awarded by FCVic to a member who has demonstrated service to the profession over and above their normal duties as a financial counsellor.

Farewell and thanks to Greg Tanzer and Lyndall Millburn

Greg Tanzer was an appointed director and a member of the Board for nearly seven years. As a former ASIC Commissioner, Greg brought significant governance and risk-management expertise to the Board and was Chair of the Nominations Committee.

During Greg’s time on the Board, he provided wise guidance on many fronts, including on interacting with government and other stakeholders, as well as in relation to the industry funding model for financial counselling.

We are pleased that Greg’s expertise and knowledge is not lost, however, as he will remain a director of the Financial Counselling Foundation. The foundation is a charitable trust set up to accept donations that can be used to fund financial counselling services.

Lyndall was an elected financial counselling director and is employed by Care Financial Counselling Service in the ACT. She decided not to stand for re-election to the Board after an initial three-year term, as part of a strategy to reduce her external commitments. With a previous career in accounting, Lyndall’s insights on the Finance, Audit and Risk Committee were invaluable.

Both Greg and Lyndall are highly respected professionals, and we thank them sincerely for their significant contributions over a long period.

About the FCA Board

The FCA Board comprises seven members: three skills-based directors appointed by the Board itself and four accredited financial counsellors elected by the FCA Representative Council.

The Board will now comprise:

  • Financial counselling directors: Anne Crouch (Chair), Carly Baker, Rob Benton and Kylie Holford
  • Appointed directors: Jocelyn Furlan, Delia Rickard and John Williams.

Media contact: Mike Bruce 0403 920 189 or [email protected]

×Close search