skip to Main Content

The FCA board, which meets at least six times per year, is made up of seven directors: four are elected from the financial counselling sector, while three external, skills-based directors are appointed by the board. All directors serve a three-year term, with a maximum of two continuous terms.

Directors from the financial counselling sector need to be accredited financial counsellors and are elected by the Representative Council. Any accredited financial counsellor can apply for a position on the board in an election. However, if a state or territory president is elected, they need to resign from that role.

Board members

Carmel Franklin (Chair)

Financial Counsellor Director

B.Ed., Dip. Comm Services (Financial Counselling), Cert IV Training and Assessment

Carmel has been involved with consumer issues for many years. She’s the CEO of Care Financial Counselling Services and the Consumer Law Centre of the ACT (Care) and has worked with the organisation since 1992. Carmel has been the chairperson of Financial Counselling Australia (FCA) since 2009.

Carmel is a consumer director on the board of the Australian Financial Complaints Authority, a board member of the ACT Gambling and Racing Commission and she is a member of the ATO Individual Tax Liaison Group.


Lyndall Millburn

Financial Counsellor Director

B. Accounting, Grad Dip Community Counselling, Master of Counselling

I have worked as an accountant for 20 years in places varying from a chartered accounting firm to the Australian National Audit Office. I spent nine years as the chief financial officer for a local community organisation. This sparked my passion for the community sector and aspiration to work in a professional helping role. I returned to university in 2013 to undertake a Graduate Diploma in Community Counselling and joined the financial counselling sector in 2014. I work as a financial counsellor with Care Financial Counselling Service in Canberra.  2020 saw me complete my Master of Counselling degree.


Kylie Holford

Financial Counsellor Director

Diploma in Counseling. Diploma in Community Service (Financial Counselling).  Certificate IV in Training and Assessing

Kylie came to financial counselling in 2014 and has worked as a full-time financial counsellor since. Prior employment was within the Disability / Rehabilitation and Employment sector.

Kylie is a current board director of Financial Counsellors of NSW (FCAN) and has previously served as the FCAN State Representative on the Financial Counselling Representative Council.


Anne Crouch

Financial Counsellor Director

B. Ag Science, Grad Cert Accounting, Dip. Management, Dip. Community Services (Financial Counselling), GAICD.

Anne is the Program Manager, Gambling and Financial Services with Uniting Country SA where she worked as a financial counsellor prior to moving into her leadership role. Anne has just completed a 6 year term as Chair of the South Australian Financial Counselling Association and represents FCA at AFSA’s Personal Insolvency Stakeholder Forums. She is also a member of the Australian Financial Complaints Authority’s Consumer Advisory Panel.


Jocelyn Furlan

Appointed director

LL.B, B. Com, Dip Fin Planning (Fdn) GAICD

Jocelyn Furlan is a lawyer and an accountant, with more than 25 years’ experience in the superannuation industry. She’s a director of a number of organisations including First State Super, and is Chair of Strathcona Baptist Girls Grammar School and Independent Chair of the Customer Owned Banking Code Compliance Committee. She is a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Previous roles include chair of the Superannuation Complaints Tribunal, executive manager corporate of the Victorian Superannuation Board and its predecessor the State Superannuation Board, and company secretary of VicSuper.


Tony Robinson

Appointed director

B.A. (Hon), M.A. (Australian Studies)

Tony is currently chair of the Ausgrid Reset Customer Panel, a role that helps ensure the electricity distributor’s future revenue needs are built around customer needs and expectations. He spent several years managing the Brotherhood of St Laurence’s financial inclusion division and prior to this was a Victorian MP for 13 years, including four years in Cabinet, as Minister for Consumer Affairs. Tony also chairs the Migrant Information Centre (Eastern Melbourne)


Greg Tanzer

Appointed director

B.Ec, LL.B (Hon)

Greg was most recently a commissioner at the Australian Securities and Investments Commission. Before this, he worked as secretary-general of the International Organisation of Securities Commissions. Greg is a Director of Financial Counselling Foundation Ltd. He has significant experience in regulation, governance and policy development.

×Close search